

EIOPA-BoS-11/006

EIOPA Board of Supervisors

Frankfurt am Main, 10 January 2011

Approved Minutes

Acting Chair: Gabriel Bernardino

Members and Observers:

Voting: AT: Peter Braumüller, BE: Michel Flamee, BG: Angel Djalazov, CZ: David Rozumek, DE: Jochen Sanio, DK: Jan Parner, EE: Raul Malmstein, ES: Luis Bautista, FI: Anneli Tuominen, FR: Danièle Nouy, GR: Charalampos Vogiatzis HU: Károly Szász, IE: Matthew Elderfield, IT: Flavia Mazzarella, LT: Mindaugas Salcius, LV: Irena Krumane, LU: Claude Wirion, MT: Marisa Attard, NL: Joanne Kellermann, PL: Damian Jaworski, RO: Rodica Popescu, SE: Martin Andersson, SI: Mihael Perman, SK: Julia Cillikova, UK: Hector Sants

Non-voting: *CZ:* Zuzana Silberová, DE: Thomas Schmitz-Lippert, EE: Kaido Tropp, FR: Cyril Roux, GR: Ioannis Chatzivasiloglou, HU: József Banyar, IE: Colette Drinan, IE: Brendan Kennedy; IS: Gunnar Andersen IT: Fausto Parente, Raffaele Capuano LI: Alexander Imhof LV: Dina Mikelsone, NL: Thijs van Woerden, NO: Bjørn Skogstad Aamo, SE: Malin Björkmo, SK: Peter Palus, UK: Julian Adams, Bill Galvin, COM: Karel von Hulle, Olivier Salles, EBA: Arnoud Voussen, ESMA: Carlo Comporti, ESRB: Francesco Mazzaferro, ECB: Fátima Pires

Experts from Members and Observers:

AT: Gerlinde Taurer, BG: Stefan Stoilkov, PL: Grzegorz Komarnicki, PT: Ana Teresa Moutinho, RO: Adina Dragomir

EIOPA Working Group Chairs:

Petra Faber-Graw (IGSC Chair) Edward Forshaw (Equivalence Committee Chair), Paolo Cadoni (IntMod Chair)

EIOPA Staff:

Carlos Montalvo Rebuelta (EIOPA Acting Secretary General), Patrick Hoedjes (EIOPA Acting Director of Operations), Catherine Coucke, David Cowan, Simona Dascalu, Sandra Desson, Dora Iltcheva, Perrine Kaltwasser, Iwona Krasniewska, Jarl Kure, Lay Peng Lim, Juan Lumbreras, Kerstin Mayer, Sophia Milili-Makrydakis, Pamela Schuermans, Tilmann Roth.

1. Welcome and introductory remarks by the Acting Chair and the Commission's representative

The Acting Chair welcomed attendants to the first meeting of the Board of Supervisors. The Acting Chair ascertained that the assembly had been duly called and was competent to adopt decisions.

2. Adoption of the Agenda

Conclusion/Action points:

• The agenda was adopted (*decision by simple majority*).

3. Adoption of Rules of Procedure of Board of Supervisors (chaired by the Acting Chair)

Conclusion/Action points:

 Rules of procedure of the Board of Supervisors were adopted (decision by simple majority).

4. Election of the Alternate of Chairperson

Conclusion/Action points:

• Victor Rod (Commissariat aux Assurances, Luxembourg) was elected Alternate of the Chairperson (*decision by simple majority*).

5. Appointment of EIOPA's Interim Executive Director

Conclusion/Action points:

• Olivier Salles was appointed interim Executive Director of EIOPA (*decision by simple majority*).

6. Election of the six Management Board Members

Conclusion/Action points:

- The following Members were elected in EIOPA Management Board: Peter Braumüller, Financial Market Authority, Austria; Matthew Elderfield, Central Bank of Ireland, Ireland; Damian Jaworski, KNF – Polish Financial Supervision Authority, Poland; Flavia Mazzarella, Italian Insurance Supervisory Authority, Italy; Jan Parner, Danish Financial Supervisory Authority, Denmark; Hector Sants, Financial Services Authority, United Kingdom (decision by simple majority).
- EIOPA's website will be updated accordingly.
- The Board of Supervisors thanked all candidates for their willingness to contribute to the success of EIOPA.

7. Adoption of EIOPA Rules of Procedure covering the Chairperson, the Executive Director, Code of Conduct and Legal instruments of The Authority

Conclusion/Action points:

• EIOPA's Rules of Procedure covering the Chairperson, the Executive Director, Code of Conduct and Legal instruments of the Authority were adopted and will be published on EIOPA's website (*decision by simple majority*).

8. Approval of the 2011-meetings plan

Conclusion/Action points:

The 2011-meetings plan of EIOPA was approved as follows:

- 25 February 2011 (Budapest)
- 31 March 1 April 2011 (Frankfurt)
- 30 June 1 July 2011 (Prague)
- 20 21 October 2011 (Frankfurt)
- 9. Draft European Supervisory Authorities (ESAs) Emergency actions Step 1 short term

Conclusion/Action points:

The issue was brought for discussion. No conclusion or action point was taken.

Frankfurt am Main,

[signed]

Gabriel Bernardino Chairperson of EIOPA